The Oregon Newspaper Hall of Fame Award was first conceived in 1973 by the ONPA Board of Directors, and the first induction took place in 1979.

Oregon Newspaper Hall of Fame display at University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication.
       The award recognizes Oregon newspaper people who have been involved in management or leadership in one or more disciplines of the newspaper industry in Oregon, and who have made an outstanding contribution to Oregon newspaper professionalism through community, regional, or state service.
       The ONPA Honors Committee, which consists of past recipients of the Amos Voorhies and/or Hall of Fame awards, judge all Hall of Fame nominees. Awards are presented at the ONPA Summer Publishers Convention.
       Contributions to the Oregon Newspapers Foundation's Hall of Fame project have enabled creation of a permanent display at the University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication.

Hall of Fame inductees
Click highlighted names for details

Claude "C.E." Ingalls, Corvallis Gazette-Times
Charles "Sam" Jackson, The Oregon Journal, Portland
Frank Jenkins, Herald and News, Klamath Falls
Henry L. Pittock, The Oregonian, Portland
Harvey W. Scott, The Oregonian, Portland
Gov. Elmo Smith, Albany Democrat-Herald
Gov. Charles Sprague, Salem Oregon Statesman
Amos E. "Boss" Voorhies, Grants Pass Daily Courier
George Putnam, Medford Mail Tribune
E. Palmer Hoyt, The Oregonian, Portland
Robert W. Sawyer, Bend Bulletin
Robert W. Ruhl, Medford Mail Tribune
Eric W. Allen, School of Journalism, University of Oregon
Edwin Burton Aldrich, The East Oregonian, Pendleton
Charles Stanton, Roseburg News-Review
DeWitt Clinton Ireland, The Oregonian, Portland
Emma McKinney, Hillsboro Argus
W. Verne McKinney, Hillsboro Argus
Wendell Webb, Oregon Statesman, Salem
Hugh McGilvra, Times Publications
Donald J. Sterling, The Oregon Journal, Portland
L.H. Gregory, The Oregonian, Portland
A.D. "Deb" Addison, Roseburg News-Review
Carl Webb, former ONPA Executive Director, University of Oregon
Robert C. Ingalls, Corvallis Gazette-Times
Louis D. Felsheim, Bandon Western World
Paul W. Harvey, Jr., AP Capitol Correspondent
Ruth E. King, Herald and News, Klamath Falls
Eric W. Allen, Jr., Medford Mail Tribune
Alton F. Baker, Sr., Eugene Register-Guard
Robert C. Notson, The Oregonian, Portland
Michael Frey, The Oregonian, Portland
Wes Sullivan, Oregon Statesman, Salem
Arthur L. Lowe, Corvallis Gazette-Times
Harrison P. "Red" Hornish, The springfield News
J.W. "Bud" Forrester, East Oregonian, Pendleton
Joseph F. Caraher, Herald and News, Klamath Falls
Guy Leslie Shaw, Lake County Examiner
Jerry Latham, Mail Tribune, Medford
Wiliam M. Tugman, The Register-Guard, Eugene
Gwen T. Coffin, Wallowa County Chieftain, Enterprise
Giles French, Sherman County Journal, Moro
Stephen W. Ryder, Mail Tribune, Medford
William A. Hilliard, The Oregonian, Portland
Phil Bladine, News Register, McMinnville
Walter McKinney, Hillsboro Argus
Richard Nafsinger, Hood River News
Ted Baker, The Register-Guard, Eugene
John Buchner, Albany Democrat-Herald
Bob Moody, Western Communications
Robert W. Chandler, The Bulletin, Bend